What is AirDrop and How to use it
AirDrop was originally introduced in Mac OS X Lion and iOS7. This functionality gives users the possibility of sharing data between iOS devices easily and fast. There are many different types of files that can be shared, including contacts, photos, notes and iTunes radio stations, just to mention a few. AirDrop is a convenient technology to share information across compatible Apple devices and here you will learn how to set up and how to use it.
Setting Up AirDrop
- In order to get AirDrop working correctly, signing up to an iCloud account is required. In addition, you have to enable Bluetooth on your device and be connected to the internet. There are other configuration options available in the Control Center, which can be accessed by swiping up from the bottom of the screen. A window will appear. To enable Bluetooth, select the icon in the middle of the row at the top.
- The next step is to tap the AirDrop button to choose if you want your device to be available to your Contacts Only, or to Everyone. These options allow you to control who gets to send you information. If you choose Contact Only, only those who are in your Contacts list will be able to send you data. You can also disable AirDrop.
How to use AirDrop
- If you want to send data to someone else, tap the Share button that looks like a square with an arrow pointing up. You can share links to websites, photos, notes, contacts and other information.
- You will see a share sheet with multiple options to share data. The recipients that are available within the range, which is 30 feet approximately, will appear in the AirDrop section. You will see their icon and if they are in your Contacts list, their nickname and photo will be shown. You may need to allow a few minutes to be able to see the AirDrop devices that are available nearby. Keep in mind that the device of the recipient should be awake, meaning that the screen shouldn’t be black, so that it can be recognized.
- Once you see the icon of the intended recipient, you can tap on it to share data, The other party will get a notification letting them know that you want to send them information. They can accept or reject the transfer of data. If they accept, they will receive a copy of the data you sent and you will get a confirmation once the data is successfully transferred.
Once the data reaches the intended recipient’s device, it is automatically opened using the relevant app. For example, if you are sending a link to a website, it will be opened in Safari.