It is easy to know when you are blocked by someone on a specific messenger app as either their profile picture will disappear or you will see that your message has not been read. However, it could be quite tricky to know if your number is blocked on someone else’s iPhone. Through this article, you will learn if your number has been blocked by someone on their phone.
Find if Someone Has Blocked Your Number on iPhone
As mentioned earlier, if someone has blocked your number on their iPhone, it could be a little bit difficult to tell as you will not be notified nor will you get a message that your number is being blocked. However, there are some hints and signs that will show and indicate that your number is being blocked by someone.
Here are some ways and method to find out if your number is being blocked:
Send an iMessage
- Open your messages app on your iPhone
- Send a short message to the person you think has blocked your number
- Ask him or her to reply to your message
- Once you have sent your iMessage, look at your read receipts.
- If you have seen delivered on your read receipt. This means your contact has not blocked your number
- If you do not see delivered or other read receipt, this could mean that it is possible that your number has been blocked. However, take in mind that the person you are sending message to could have blocked or disabled his read receipts on his or her phone or he does not have any mobile data or WiFi.
Call the person
- Did it ring normally or did it just rung once and you were diverted to voice mail?
- If it only rang more than once and you were diverted to a voice mail, this could mean that your contact is just busy and could not answer your call.
- If the phone just rang once, this could mean that your number has been blocked.
- Take in mind that the person you are trying to contact has switched his or her phone off or is on another call or he or she is in an area with low connectivity. Hence, we suggest to try again at another time.
- Take in mind as well that the person you are trying to call will be notified that you have been trying to call them even if you do not leave a voice message.
Switch Off Caller ID and Call the Person
- Go to settings> phone > show my caller ID
- Turn to off the toggle next to show my caller ID
- Call the person you are trying to contact
- If the person has blocked your number, he or she will not see who is calling. Thus, could answer your call.
- If the person has blocked your number, the phone rings as normal, your number has been blocked.
- If your call has been cut after a few rings, your number could also be blocked
Do Not Disturb Mode
Another possibility why you cannot contact the person you would wish to talk to is his or her phone is on Do Not Disturb Mode.
Signs that Your Number Has Been Blocked on iPhone
- Your calls are being diverted to voice mail after one ring
- You hear a busy tone and your call gets cut off
- You do not get any response to your text messages and you cannot see delivered or read receipts.
- You are able to reach and contact the person through the use of Hidden Caller ID.